The Data Analytics Prize

The Data Analytics Prize 2023

Congratulations to team Reckon – winners of the 2023 Data Analytics Prize in the Climate Investment Challenge.

Aparna Holenarasipura Sreedhara & Akanksha Sahay’s entry “Financing a just coal transition” used climate, geospatial and economic data and climate risk modelling to understand physical risk and coal transition-relevant job losses. The team will receive further assistance from CGFI as they develop their solution.

The team, pictured above with CGFI panel judge Brian Matthews and the CGFI’s Yllka Hysaj, received the award in the CIC Final at the Royal Institution/Undaunted. CIC finalists presented their ideas to an expert panel from industry and academia.

About the Data Analytics Prize

CGFI supports the Data Analytics Prize as part of the Climate Investment Challenge (CIC).

The Prize looks for students’ creative ideas to utilise existing climate and environmental datasets to improve the adoption of climate finance.

Ideas may help to integrate transition or physical climate risk into financial decision-making or develop novel green financial instruments. This can include the use of weather data, climate models, geospatial and satellite data.

The winning team will be awarded £5,000 and CGFI support to further develop the solution.

The Process

Stage 1: Students completed registration and submitted concept notes.
Stage 2: Semi-finalists invited to submit a detailed slide presentation.
Stage 3: Finalists pitched their ideas in front of an expert judging panel on 9th June 2023 in London.

Students enrolled in any degree at the time of the submission are eligible to enter. The challenge is open globally to students from all academic backgrounds.

Undergraduate students may participate as long as the leader of the group is enrolled in a postgraduate degree. Students must form teams of 2 to 6 members and apply with their student emails.

Information webinar

Watch the CIC webinar about the Challenge, featuring CGFI Impact and Innovation Lead Christophe Christiaen introducing the Data Analytics Prize.